Goin’ to Work

Today is January 3, 2015.

THREE days into the new year.

Roughly 11 years into my career as a wife and mother.

And today it hit me.

“Work willingly at whatever you do, as though you were working for the Lord rather than for people.” Col 3:23

See … here’s the thing. I’ve been looking at this whole housekeeper thing all wrong.  Cause I’ve been looking at it as if it’s MY house. Or, ya know, OUR house.  But, it’s not. No … it’s HIS house.  And it should be used to HIS glory, not mine.

And so today, when I was having a conversation with a friend and she mentioned stopping by and I had a PANIC ATTACK at the thought that someone might actually see. my. house., I realized that there may possibly be a problem.  But, truly, my house is THAT big of a mess. It frequently looks as though someone has taken the entire structure, turned it upside down and shaken it like a snow globe.

Yes. That bad.

Seriously.

So, today I hired a new housekeeper/chef/shopper/budget-er/home manager.

Today I hired me.

And today I began working as though I am working for the Lord, and not people.

And, by people, I mean me.

No more stuffing closets, cabinets and drawers when someone knocks on the door. No more stacking clutter in neat little piles. No more shifting the mess to make it look pretty less horrifying.  No more pretending it’s all under control.

Cause, news flash, IT IS NOT UNDER CONTROL AT ALL!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

First things first, we put Christmas away. And, then I organized the toy boxes in the living room and rearranged the furniture. We brought the rug up from the basement and switched the broken chair out with one from the guest room/office and basically got the living room in order.

Tomorrow, I will start on the kitchen and at least get it clean. I will follow that with bedrooms, bathrooms and the office, getting them clean at the very least. Once I have the house CLEAN, we will begin the organization process.  I will take care of this house like it is my job.

Cause, it is.

And I will do it as for the Lord.

And then, when someone knocks on the door, I won’t freak out. When a friend calls me hurting, I can say “come over and let’s talk” without panic in my voice.  I will use this house as He intended, not just a sanctuary for my family, but a place for friends and family to visit and feel His presence and know His love and FIND. HIM. HERE.

‘Cause, after all, this is HIS house.

Also, I am accepting applications for an assistant … any takers???

Standard

Leave a Reply

